Question Answer

What happens if I change the Idle Time setting?

The Idle Time setting has been implemented to counter the lack of responsiveness other applications may show during BurstCopy transfers. It represents a period during which the application will pause itself in order to allow other programs exclusive hard-drive access. This goes to say that an Idle Time setting of 100 will cause the application to do nothing for 100 milliseconds (0.1 seconds) each second.

As an example, this could be useful when transferring some files and starting other applications at the same time. These other applications will start noticeably slower while the transfer is in progress. In this particular case, it would be useful to temporarily increase the Idle Time setting, and set it back to normal when those respective applications are done loading.

©2002-2017 BurstCopy Labs

If you encounter any problems with the website, please report them to webmaster@burstcopy.com.
BurstCopy is a trademark of BurstCopy Labs.